top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiza Cariola

Blessings in disguise...


My blessings are not in riches, wealth or luxurious things. There is nothing wrong in having those but, like they say, you can't take them with you when you die.


I am so blessed to have a loving, caring family that are willing to sacrifice their time and share their home with me while I recover from the treatment. It’s is such a strong impact to a healthy and hopeful recovery to have people around me that are empathizing with what I’m going through and are able to give the care that I needed. It not only allows me to endure it but it encourages me not to give up and to keep on fighting.


My main support and care team includes my three sisters, Carol, Nory, and Lea and their families, untiringly giving me their time and effort in getting the help I need. Great ideas have been formed and turned into projects that will help alleviate the financial burden that I’m now faced with.


(From the left, Lea, Nory, Liza and Carol)


Cancer is a very expensive disease. It not only sucks the life out of the one suffering from it but it drains all the financial resources one has. It strikes at your core being by making you feel inadequate to take care of yourself. With no income, no immediate resources to take care of all the obligations you once can readily take care of is a shot to ones confidence and peace of mind. Seeing all the medical bills piling up with no resources puts a tremendous stress not only on me but to the whole family.


This is where the blessings are in disguise.


This disease has brought this family who already has a strong bond and close relationship to a stronger bond and a more closer relationship than before. The love and peace I feel come from knowing that we, as a family including my extended families, are all in this together.


My young niece and nephew, Isabella and Federico, surprised me with this Bible verse posted on the wall after my first treatment, “His Love calms all my fears.”

I saw the same verse posted at K-Love site. Is He (Jesus) telling me something?


Tony, my other nephew, wrote on a poster he made after the second treatment,

“In this family, we don't fight alone.”


And after my third chemo, Federico surprised me with this banner that says

“Give God your weakness and He will give you strength.”


I don't know how they're finding these verses and captions but they're exactly what I needed, exactly at the time I needed them.


If there’s anything I would impart with them, it's my faith. They're already manifesting it and it makes me so happy and proud to leave that legacy behind with them.

I am grateful for Alessio, Nory’s husband, who's so understanding while his household life have been turned upside down every time I’m having my treatment and recuperating at their home. Isabella unselfishly gave up her bedroom for me, for which I'm truly thankful.


My brothers Rene and Ruel and their families along with my other nieces, nephews, and

in-laws have been so generous, so loving, and fervently praying for my recovery.


Friends, with whom I share my faith with, have been so supportive, loving, and caring. They're constantly checking on me, bringing food, and have generously donated to the cause. I am inspired and strengthen by their constant and daily prayers for everyone's

well being and healing.


God truly sends us the people we need to have in our lives. Earlier this year, not even seriously looking for a new place to live, I inquired on a rental ad. The first time I met my landlord, I felt a mutual genuine connection. Charlie, the dog, Blue, the cat, Celina, German and Jessica have welcomed me with open arms. They're the kindest, understanding, and most generous family I've known and it's so heart warming to have them in my life.


I am truly blessed.


27 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page