top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiza Cariola

Finding Support

Updated: Nov 28, 2020

One of the things that made a big impact on me while fighting this disease is how it humbles me. Finding who I am true to myself and accepting it are the most challenging on all the challenges being faced.

Ask me to do you a favor, I'll be there in a heartbeat. Tell me your sad story and I'm all ears and praying silently that I may be able to relay the message that God wants to give you.

Ask me for help and if I can't, I'll find a way or someone else to do it. Most of the time,

I can't say no.


Trust me, I've been there before, asking for help but not as grievous as this. My saving face is that I'll promise to return the favor in due time and have kept the promise, most of the time.


Now faced with the reality that I'm the one needing a tremendous help from everyone and turning their world upside down, take up their precious time and resources that should have been spent on themselves or their family, I had to swallow my pride and ask or beg for help.

Worst of all feelings, I'll never be able to pay back their resources and precious time freely and willingly given away.


Privacy for someone can be a precious commodity and at no cost, they'll be willing to give it up. Some people opt to suffer alone and not reach out. But I had to be "naked" to the world and bare everything to tell all what's going on. I had to stripped myself off of embarrassment and pride. In asking my family for support, I was asking them to do the same and that's the other difficult thing for me.

And in baring it all, the kindness, the generosity, and the blessings from our Heavenly Father, the families, friends and anonymous donors have been tremendous. But can't help to fathom the responses received, to my brother-in-law summed it up; "You reap what you sow."


Besides the projects that we've come up with, we also searched the internet for companies that are offering support. Assistance comes in the form of financial, group or one on one meeting for emotional support, groceries, transportation, rent, or gas money, etc.

Your health insurance company, your social case worker, or hospital case manager are some of the people able to give you directions who to ask for support.

Depending on the type of cancer you have, there are some companies supporting your specific disease. Some are bound by location, others are bound by age but there are support out there to help no matter what your circumstances are. You just have to be willing to spend time searching the internet, sending in application with your doctor's certification, calling them on the phone, or waiting for their availability. This is what I was doing in between my "bad week" and "good week." It can be a very frustrating process under the circumstances but also rewarding at times.


My sister found this organization called National Ovarian Cancer Coalition. I received a tote bag containing blanket, non-slippery sock, ribbon pin, wrist band, and the brochure for newly diagnosed patient, which I found most helpful. Their website offers a plethora of useful information, videos, events, social media connections and resources.

Another website I found helpful is Ovarcome Non-Profit Inc. It offers ovarian cancer awareness thru their various programs, events, and one time financial help for rent, groceries and transportation. Sense of Security California is an organization referred by my case manager. They offer financial help for rent, groceries, and transportation. Check out their website; it offers useful information and their endeavors to help cancer patients.

I am grateful for the help these organizations have extended.

19 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page