top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiza Cariola

Second Chemo


Challenges of the side effects



The challenges by the second week also had something to do with all the side effects of the treatment. For one thing, getting hydrated was a real struggle. I used to be able to drink 5 or 6 bottled water during the day. For some reason, I can’t consciously drink water constantly and it’s causing stomach problems. The medicine makes me feel bloated and I get full easily, even if I only ate a few bites.



Another challenge is trying to eat little portions but eat more than 3 times a day.

Losing ones appetite and the changes in the taste of the food in your mouth can make this task challenging, too. Before getting sick, it was not a problem to eat at any time of the day but when you’re body is telling you that you’re full all the time or you’re not hungry even at the time you’re supposed to eat, it contributes to losing weight fast and detrimental to regaining strength and recovering ones health. At this time, it’s crucial to nourish my body with nutritious foods to be able to get ready for the next treatment.


I also experienced bleeding and more blood tests were conducted to find the cause.

It turned out I was experiencing low blood count after the second infusion. This came about after the second week.


Another warning to keep in mind is infection. With the treatment, my immune system is compromised and infection can easily set in. Even with the most cautions applied, I can be infected without knowing it. One indicator is the body temperature where 104.9 may indicate an infection setting in and need to be reported to the doctor. Overall, it was a good week with lots of “good days" and I feel blessed. But I can't help and feel anxious in waiting for the next treatment.

20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page